3 Reasons Why I am Taking a Break from Social Media

It has been said that we are more connected now than we have ever been but that we are also more lonely than we have ever been. There are plenty of studies, blogs, and articles that you can find on the subject. From personal experience, I can see why they say that. I see what everyone is doing, but I don’t really feel connected to them. It is hard to be in a new state with no friends around. It has been lonely and social media just reminds me that I am not with people I love anymore. It also feeds the lie inside me that people are better off without me. This is not God’s truth for anyone’s life. In our time here, social media has become an idol in my life. So yesterday I took a step to kill that idol by deleting all the social media apps from my phone. Social media can truly connect people and I have seen God use it in great ways. I just check it too much right now and want to take a break so I can have a healthy relationship with it. Here are the 3 reasons why.

I have a great wife and I want to give her my attention.

There have been many times where I could have given Hilary my time, but I was too busy on my phone wasting it. I want to give her my attention and affection. If my time is wrapped up on my phone, I can’t give it to Hilary. Right now we have more time together than we ever had and probably ever will. I don’t want to waste this time of our lives.

I want to do more things I enjoy.

I have a lot of hobbies that I enjoy. I have time for them now but I haven’t been focusing on them. It is easy for me to sit down and get caught up in social media or Netflix. I can play music more. I can build stuff out of my scrap wood. I can learn photography. I can continue to learn to cook. I can read more. I have been doing these things, but I haven’t been as intentional about it as I should be with all this time.

I need to focus on things that bring me life.

Social media doesn’t really bring me life. It is easy to sit and scroll through the feed and compare your life to others. That is not fair to yourself or anyone else. As someone once said, “Don’t compare your behind the scenes to someone else’s highlight reel.” It is easy for jealousy, bitterness, and anger to creep into your life. I want to focus on my wife, hobbies, dog, job and anything else that brings me life. I think that is a far better way to spend my time.

I will still be posting this to social media through WordPress so if you read it and comment on the post know that I won’t see it for awhile. I am not sure how long I am taking off, but I know that I want to live a full life. I want to make sure I am leading our family well. God has given us this unique time in life, and I do not want to waste it. I hope that if you struggle with looking at your phone too much you will take steps to minimize it. Life is too short to waste it on things that steal life from us.

Love you guys!

One thought on “3 Reasons Why I am Taking a Break from Social Media

  1. Praise God!! You have my respect! I just love when people act..

    My husband and I have felt this same loneliness here in Ohio! You are not alone. God gave us a lovely to years here, though we never made friends, even in our church community (though we tried). We are so grateful though; we grew together!! Sometimes God gives us quiet time to strengthen and encourage, to prepare… We should see this season as a blessed gift, a treasure… The enemy has a way of stealing this gift away from us. It took us a while to realize that our loneliness was a good thing. Rejoice in your sorrow. Rejoice in your suffering. Rejoice in God’s goodness.

    Like

Leave a Reply

